PhD Award

The AWGSA PhD Award was established to promote and advance feminist scholarship in Australia by recognising emerging research in the fields of Women’s and Gender Studies and related disciplines.  The award is made to the most outstanding doctoral thesis completed at an Australian university that clearly and extensively engages with feminist paradigms.  The inaugural award was made in 2010, and the prize is awarded every 2 years.

‘Nominations for the 2020 Award for doctorates awarded in 2018 or 2019 will open at the end of 2019. The Award will be given at the 2020 AWGSA Conference. More information to follow


2018 AWGSA PhD Award


Isobelle Barrett-Meyering (Macquarie)

Joe Latham (Deakin)


2016 AWGSA PhD Award

Winner Juliet Watson (RMIT)


Dr Juliet Watson receiving her 2016 AWGSA PhD Award from AWGSA president, JaneMaree Maher,

Details of Juliet Watson’s PhD thesis can be found here.

2014 AWGSA PhD Award 

Winner: Erica Millar, University of Melbourne
Highly Commended: Kylie Weston-Scheuber (ANU), Catherine Bishop (ANU)

AWGSA PhD Award Judges’ Citations 2014


2012 AWGSA PhD Award

AWGSA PhD Award Judges’ Citations 2012


2012 AWGSA PhD Award. Winner: Anitra Goriss-Hunter (right), Highly Commended: Amy Dobson (centre)


2010 Inaugural AWGSA Phd Award

AWGSA PhD Award Judges’ Citations 2010